Filling the home with MUSIC

As far as I could remember, music was always a part of our every day living.  Growing up with a Christian mom, she always had on Radio Vision Cristiana–a Spanish Christian radio station founded by Pastor David Greco.  The station would be on during the day while she was away at work and my brother & I were off to school.  With child-like faith, we believed that having the radio on all day meant that evil would not come into our home.  On Saturdays, while we each did a chore to clean our small apartment, my mom played her Spanish Christian albums on the record player.  Truth be told, I didn’t like any of that music.  To me, it was old, irrelevant to my social life and I had no interest in listening to it…but back then I didn’t have a choice.  I had to listen to her music while I cleaned.  Little did I know that those songs were sinking in to my spirit–in a good way.

I don’t know how it happened and when it started but I recently realized that I, too, started to turn on Radio Vision Cristiana as I left the house to go to work.  As I leave, I command God’s angels to remain on my property as the music plays throughout the day. I also developed the habit to play Christian radio on Saturdays when I clean my house.  I must admit, I love all kinds of music.  But my go-to genre will always be Christian music. Sometimes I listen to Hope 103.2 FM or I’ll listen to Christian Hip Hop on Hot 95.9 but mostly, I enjoy listening to iTunes radio for commercial-free spontaneous praise & worship on The Healing Wind radio.

The tradition my mom started, I now continue in my home.  I see how important it is to keep the home flowing with music.  Music changes the environment of your home –it sets the tone and creates peace and unity.  In my home, there’s music constantly playing somewhere–I’ll usually be in the family room working on my computer listening to music, my oldest will be in her room or in the living room on her laptop listening to her favorite artists. My high schooler usually is with me in our family room practicing on the piano or in her room practicing on drum pads or on the trombone (the newest instrument she’s teaching herself to play).  My husband is usually downstairs in his mancave on his keyboard working on a song for church on Sunday.  We are always either listening to or creating music more than any other activity.  I think its really special because it unites us as a family.  We spend more time on music than watching TV.

IMG_3065
Christa working on a song we wrote together

The bible says in Psalms 96:1-2:

“Sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth. Sing to the LORD, praise his name; proclaim his salvation day after day.”

And in Isaiah 12:4-5 it says:

“Give praise to the LORD, proclaim his name; make known among the nations what he has done, and proclaim that his name is exalted. Sing to the LORD, for he has done glorious things; let this be known to all the world.”

We love Jesus and we’re not ashamed to sing His praises and proclaim His goodness and faithfulness towards us day after day.  I think a little piece of Heaven surrounds our home everytime music is on repeat mode because literally our home is always filled with such peace.

Perhaps you don’t listen to Christian music like we do.  It’s ok, you don’t have to.  I’m not here to say only Christian music should be played in the home.  You might listen to country music, jazz, rock-n-roll, opera, classical, or Broadway.  Whatever it is you enjoy and makes you happy–keep that flowing in your home.

A home should be filled with song and rejoicing always because it removes darkness which comes with division, fighting, arguing, bickering, and nagging–if invited, music will rule in its place.

Take music everywhere you go and let it change your environment and by doing so you can help change the environment for others.

P.S.

Just recently, as I left my house for work (following in my mom’s footsteps) I turned on Radio Vision Cristiana before walking out the door and this song played (La Gran Tribulacion) (The Great Tribulation).  Back in the day I thought this song was super corny but now I hear it and I surprise myself I know some of the lyrics.  It was nostalgic to hear it…bringing me back to a time of innocence, carefree living and good ‘ol fashioned Pentecostal preaching in a song.

Thanks for reading and for listening!

Contact me if you would like me to address a specific topic. Thanks!

Leave a comment